Friday, October 23, 2009

Still, Carolingian Press 1975

click images to enlarge

via the treasure trove of Princeton's graphic arts blog.

Molly Burgess, Still ([Piscataway, N.J.] : Carolingian Press, 1975). Copy 16 of 25.

Artist statement:

"Still is my response to a study of Eastern philosophy and religion. Though the book is based on personal interpretation and experience, there are specific links to both the history and philosophy from which it was conceived. Designed as a complete experience, it leads from the unfolding of the cover through the colors, into the patterns, the paradox, the stillness….

The book is arranged on four different levels: by color, by country, by thought, and by number…. There are thirty-two poems, eight in each of the four sections (the Eightfold way: right views, right inten

tions, right speech, right action, right profession, right effort, right watchfulness, right concentration). Each section of eight is again divided in two sections of four (the Four Noble Truths) by the ‘lace’ papers. The patterns of the four ‘lace’ papers progress from diamond to star to scallop to circle."

1 comment:

Grace Young said...

Where do you find all these crazy cool books!?!? Do youhave a secret collection!?!? Was that what your bed was made of!? Is that why it was so comfortable!?!? Because it's made of infinite knowledge and happy looking?!?!

I miss you okay hello bye bye!